Participants

1- THE UNIVERSITY OF BIRMINGHAM  (UOB)

UoB is the coordinator of Q-SENSE. UoB is the coordinator of Q-SENSE. UoB is leading of the UK National Quantum Technology Hub in Sensors and Metrology, an £80M innovation project including 6 University and over 70 industry partners. As such it provides a number of technology development specialists with expertise in optical clocks, gravity sensors and simulation packages in addition to civil engineering expertise in the use of gravity sensors for underground mapping and links to potential commercial end-users. UoB participates in several secondments to INRIM, JRC, PTB, Stanford and UCD. Next to leading the management and dissemination WPs, UoB’s main contribution will be in the development of the open source atom interferometer simulation package and the investigation of terrestrial applications of cold atom quantum sensors.

Research Team Members

UoB Coordinator: Kai Bongs (k.bongs@bham.ac.uk)

Yeshpal Singh (y.singh.1@bham.ac.uk)

UoB Project Manager: Raquel Fernández del Río (r.fernandezdelrio@bham.ac.uk)

2-the University of nottingham (UNOTT)

UNOTT will provide specialists in magnetic modelling and atom chips. They will contribute to the
developments of magnetic field and coil geometries for space applications of atom interferometers.
They will participate in secondments with Stanford.

Research Team Members

Peter Kruger (krugerp@gmail.com)

Mark Fromhold (mark.fromhold@nottingham.ac.uk)‎‎

3-Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf (udus)

UDUS is the lead organisation in the Space Optical Clock project by the European Space Agency,
aiming at placing an optical clock on the International Space Station. UDUS is further leading the
European project Space Optical Clock-II (SOC-II), which has produced a transportable optical
lattice clock setup.

Research Team Members

Stephan Schiller (Step.Schiller@uni-duesseldorf.de)

4-The University of Ulm (uulm)

UUlm will provide experts in modelling of atom interferometers. They will contribute to the open
source modelling package and participate in secondments with Stanford.

Research Team Members

Wolfgang Schleich (wolfgang.schleich@uni-ulm)

Albert Roura (albert.roura@uni-ulm.de)

5. Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH)

LUH is leading the German Space Agency funded QUANTUS family of projects, having achieved
Bose-Einstein condensation and atom interferometry in microgravity [Rudolph 2011] and aiming at
a first sounding rocket demonstration of atom interferometry. LUH is a leading partner for the
technology specifications for the ESA mission proposal STE-QUEST. LUH is further leading a
project funded by German Science Foundation on the uses of atom interferometry in geodesy.

Research Team Members

Ernst Rasel ‎(rasel@iqo.uni-hannover.de)

6. European Commission Joint Research Centre (JRC)

The JRC is the research arm of the European Commission. They will provide a test facility for
assessing the use of gravity sensors in humanitarian demining applications. The JRC also offers a
route to inform European policies of the findings of the Q-SENSE project, if appropriate. They will
host secondments from UoB to assess atom interferometer gravity sensors for demining
applications.

Research Team Members

Lewis Adam (adam.lewis@jrc.ec.europa.eu)

Peter Churchill ‎(peter.churchill@ec.europa.eu

7. national physical laboratory (npl)  

NPL is the national metrology institute of the UK. They will provide experts and test facilities in
ultra-stable optical clock lasers and reference cavities for space. They will be hosting several
secondments from UDUS to help develop the high performance lasers systems and stabilisation
units for the next generation technology in the SOC-II apparatus.

Research Team Members

Patrick Gill (patrick.gill@npl.co.uk)

8. Istituto Nazionale di Ricerca Metrologica (inrim)  

INRIM is the national metrology organisation of Italy. They will provide an Yb optical clock
demonstrator setup and respective specialists. They will contribute to the development of ultrastable
laser components and systems for laser cooling in Yb optical clocks and provide an out-of lab test
facility for the SOC-II transportable Sr optical clock demonstrator. INRIM will contribute to
secondments to UoB and host several secondments from NPL and UoB.

Research Team Members

Davide Calonico ‎(d.calonico@inrim.it)

9. Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB)  

PTB is the national metrology institute of Germany. They will provide specialists in atomic
chambers for optical clocks with particular regard to temperature stabilisation and they will provide
validation facilities for the assessment of the performance of the SOC-II transportable optical clock
prototype. They will contribute to secondments with the UCD.

Research Team Members

Uwe Sterr (Uwe.Sterr@ptb.de)

Christian Lisdat ‎(Christian.Lisdat@ptb.de)

10. e2v Technologies Limited (e2v)

e2v is a technology company and a world market leader in CCD sensors for space applications.
They further have expertise in vacuum electronics and are engaged in the UK National Quantum
Technology Initiative. They will provide specialists in CCD for space technology, contributing to
the development of high-performance detection solutions for atom interferometers and optical
clocks.

Research Team Members

Trevor Cross ‎(trevor.cross@e2v.com)

Ole Kock (ole.kock@e2v.com‎)‎‎

partners organisations

1. Stanford University (su)

Stanford is the world leading institution in atom interferometry. They will contribute to knowledge
generation in the field of novel atom interferometry techniques leading to utmost precision and
enhanced versatility, e.g. by multi-axis sensing. They will host secondments from UoB, LUH,
UUlm and UNOTT and contribute to the development of atom interferometer modelling.

Research Team Members

Mark Kasevich ‎(kasevich@gmail.com)

Ping Feng ‎(pfeng@stanford.edu

2. University of Colorado (uc)

UCD are world leaders in optical lattice clocks, having achieved record precision and accuracy in a
Sr optical lattice clock system with sophisticated thermal and collision control. The will contribute
expertise in achieving highest possible precision in optical lattice clocks.

Research Team Members

Jun Ye ‎(Ye@JILA.colorado.edu)

Amy Allison ‎(Amy.Allison@colorado.edu